No Lo Compredelo El Engleses.

I like to explain to people that Ronan communicates like a foreigner learning English as a second language.  He’s in Intermediate English.  Next semester, he should be in Conversational English I . 

Ro started at his school when he was 3 years old. Recently, he was tested by his school staff to evaluate his 3 year progress. 

Here’s the first page of his assessment…

rotest

The areas that he has trouble with are understanding what is said to him and speaking correctly what he is thinking.  This is a tough task to do when you are learning a foreign language!  lol

Now note his savantism…19 years old for decoding!!!  LOL  And he would have probably tested higher, but 19 years is the cap age on the test!!

When this child is fluent, what will I have on my hands?! 

NASA will be calling.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jamie Austin
    Jan 31, 2009 @ 16:58:07

    Huh. I never thought of explaining it that way. Thanks.

    Reply

    • ronanjames
      Jan 31, 2009 @ 17:09:21

      People seem to get it when I explain it that way! Funny, ha? I recognized it by how I learned Spanish as a second language in school…I had the same difficulties with that language, pronouns, and auditory processing – reading it was always easier, because it was slowed down!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

